• Award


     J.M. Amador Awarded 2020 California Distinguished School




  • On December 18, 2019, State Supertendent Tony Thurmond announced the 2020 California Distinguished Schools.

    Amador Elementary received the 2020 California Distinguished School award this past year.  Here is an excerpt explaining about this honor from CDE.gov website:

    SACRAMENTO—State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond today announced that 324 elementary schools are being honored under the 2020 California Distinguished Schools Award Program. Sponsored by the California Department of Education and presented by California Casualty, the program recognizes outstanding education programs and practices. Schools are awarded for closing the achievement gap and for achieving exceptional student performance. A component of the California School Recognition Program, the Distinguished Schools program recognizes schools based on performance and progress on the state indicators as specified on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years.

    “These outstanding schools don’t just educate students; they also provide the young people of California the tools they need to be successful after graduation,” Thurmond said. “Thanks go to all the staff at these schools—teachers, administrators, classified employees—and parents, who are working together to provide high-quality educational experiences for all of their students.”

    Distinguished School awardees represent examples of not just excellent teaching, learning, and collaboration, but also highly successful school climate efforts ranging from real-time conflict resolution to positive behavior intervention. 

    Amador Elementary is a high achieving school.   Our unique program focuses on the needs of each individual student academically and socially emotionally.  Staff work interdependently with our community to foster every single student’s success!   
    Principal Scroggins and Vice Principal West