Return to Headlines

Ninety Eight Dublin High Students Recognized by The National Merit Scholarship Program

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High School students who meet published program entry and participation requirements enter the National Merit® Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test at the specified time in the high school program, usually as juniors. Approximately 1.6 million high school students enter the program each year. 

Commended Students
In late September, more than two-thirds (about 34,000) of the approximately 50,000 high scorers on the PSAT/NMSQT receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise. Commended Students are named based on a nationally applied Selection Index score that may vary from year to year and is typically below the level required for participants to be named Semifinalists in their respective states. Although Commended Students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, some of these students do become candidates for Special Scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.

On October 12, 2020, Dublin High School announced its 83 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students.

Dublin High School's Commended Students are Gaurav Agarwal, Aarush Aitha, Cole Awabdy, Katharine Baker, Karina Bhavsar, Steven Chan, Angela Chao, Carina Chen, Gavin Chen, Arvind Chillarige, Riya Chopra, Darren Chui, Brynne Currier, Joshua Dang, Krystle Dang, Gabrielle David, Rebecca Do, Devan Gill, Bheeman Govindarajan, Arsh Goyal, Maggie Guan, Likhit Sai Gudisay, Khushi Gupta, Sunny Han, Alexis Huang, Elijah Hung, Trishala Jain, Lilly Jiang, Parth Joshi, Hannah Kang, Nimrit Kaur, Tanish Kumar, Ethan Lau, Alina Lee, Antonia Leung, Rachel Leung, Jade Li, Deya Liao, Peter Liu, Christopher Lu, Connie Ma, Adelle Neff, Eric Ni, Hae Chan Park, Sana Peswani, Darion Phan, Siri Pottavathini, Rianna Pradhan, Marie Qi, Michael Rejo, Maribel Rouse, Samiksha Shah, Subash Shibu, Jacob Sommer, Anjali Srinivasan, Stafan Stoll, Lemuel Sumardy, Niharika Suravarjjala, Diya Suresh, Aditi Thambala, Rishika Thorat, Danielle Tran, Darlena Tran, Saivishnu Tulugu, Veen Ummadisetty, Ananya Varshneya, Krishna Veeragandham, Tejas Vissapragada, Ernest Wang, Mingye Wang, Adora Wen, Keagan Wilson, Akamai Wong, Beimeng Wu, Luke Wu, Annie Xiang, Derek Xu, Mengxi Wang, Alice Yao, Nathan Yee, Aleena Zaheer, Lilian Zhao, and Kunsh Zutshi

In early September, about 16,000 students, or approximately one-third of the 50,000 high scorers, are notified that they have qualified as Semifinalists. To ensure that academically talented young people from all parts of the United States are included in this talent pool, Semifinalists are designated on a state-representational basis. Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state. Qualifying scores vary from state to state and from year to year, but the scores of all Semifinalists are extremely high. NMSC provides scholarship application materials to Semifinalists through their high schools. To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and all other requirements explained in the information provided to each Semifinalist. View the Requirements and Instructions for Semifinalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program for more information about what Semifinalists must do. (Adobe Acrobat Reader is required.)

On September 14, 2020, Dublin High School announced its 15 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists.

Dublin High School's semifinalists are Niveda Kasthuri, Audrey Kwan, Candice Lee, Jae-eun Lee, Kevin Liu, Oliver Liu, Jonathan Park, Ritviksiddha Penchala, Amelyn Pheng, Abhiram Reddy, Kyle Shi, Chinmay Varshneya, Samiksha Yelthimar, Brian Yoon, and Eric Zheng